Skip to content

My first recipe post!

May 3, 2009
tags: ,

The following post is in the spirit of new lady friends J and G. 🙂

While I was home for Easter I went a little crazy with the muffin making. I think I made five (?) different recipes and some of them were already doubled. Needless to say, we had lots of muffins. The night before I left for Harrisonburg, I went through some of Mom’s cookbooks looking for some awesome/fun muffin recipes. I can’t tell you where the following is from, but it is definitely a keeper. The muffins are so fresh, light and lemon-y. LEMON ZEST is my new favorite thing. Wow.

Cherry Vanilla Ricotta Muffins

2 c. flour
1/2 t. salt
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/8 t. baking soda
1 T. grated lemon zest
1/2 c. – 2/3 c. sugar
1 c. ricotta cheese
2 eggs
1 T. lemon juice
1 T. & 1/2 t. vanilla
1/2 stick melted butter
1 c. dried cherries OR 1 1/2 c. fresh/frozen cherries

Combine ingredients flour through sugar in mixing bowl.  
In a separate bowl whisk together the ricotta and eggs (one at a time, whisk after each egg). Add the lemon juice and vanilla.  
Then add ricotta mixture, butter, and fruit to dry ingredients.  
Mix and fill greased or papered muffin tins. Unless you like your muffins really small (boring) you won’t get two dozen. You also won’t get just one dozen. You’ll get seventeen, or some random number. Which just makes baking all the more fun. Fill your empty muffin spaces with water.
Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Notes/Questions: I used dried currants because they are mucho cheaper than dried cherries. And they tasted fantastic. With the lemon zest and the real lemon juice, the vanilla taste seemed non-existant. What’s the point of adding the vanilla? Smearing these muffins with butter is also a good choice for consumption.  🙂

Enjoy!
img_7475

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 7:47 pm

    Yum, Bess, yum. Next time I make muffins, I’m making these.

  2. May 5, 2009 7:16 pm

    YAY Bess! You’re on the bloggin’ wagon! Thanks for cluing me in.

    Toodles!

Leave a Reply

