Skip to content

Fall

September 19, 2009

And suddenly I woke up one day and realized fall had descended on us.  Whole fields of beans are turning, corn leaves are drooping, wagons are at attention behind the barn, Dad is fine-tuning the combine and that familiar scent is back.  The scent that I have been breathing in since I was two years old.  A scent that has inexplicably become a part of my soul.  I breathe it in and I am home.  It’s a change in the air; it has a sharpness to it.  It’s a combination of diesel fuel and tractor exhaust.  It’s the smell of grain turning.  It’s the smell of leaves turning.  It’s hard to explain.

For the first time in five years I will be home for the entire season of harvest.  I am super stoked for this – more than you can imagine.  To take Dad his lunches and suppers, to drive wagons around, to take many combine rides with Dad, to listen to Dad drive the combine up the lane when the day’s harvest is done, to feel bean stubble below my feet, to be lulled to sleep by the dryer fans, to see the leaves in the yard mingle with corn cobs and leaves, to see everything covered with red dog (the stuff you see floating in the air – it comes loose after the kernels are separated from the cob), and to run my hands through a wagon full of corn.

I can’t wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 4:25 am

    Enjoy, Bess.

  2. Ruth permalink
    November 23, 2009 12:14 am

    what a beautiful thing to read the week of thanksgiving! you are a treasure. 🙂
    and by the way, i just listened to the song you posted from youtube on facebook…beautiful!
    say hello to your delightful family for us!
    love,
    ruth

Leave a Reply

