Skip to content

December 22, 2009

I knew this was going to happen.  Not blogging as regularly as I had initially hoped to.  And so do I give you mucho details about everything that has happened since my arrival or just fun, insightful comments and observations?  We’re going to go with the latter.  Starting with the flight from LAX to Incheon:

The background/elevator music playing on Asiana’s speakers was Kenny G’s Christmas album.  I almost laughed out loud when it registered.  And thank goodness for tylenol pm and travel size bottles of contact solution.

I was oh, so happy when I saw that BOTH OF MY SUITCASES were waiting for me at the baggage carousel.  Again, I probably maybe a fool of myself when I exclaimed, YES!, and opened my arms to the heavens.

I don’t know how many times I told myself on the bus ride to Gwangju that I was actually and finally in Korea.  If only the sun had been out.

Korea isn’t really a place for a person who doesn’t like her mouth to be on fire about every time she eats something from a restaurant or the smell or taste of stuff that is really fishy.  I have much to work on.  Chopstick skills most definitely falls under that category as well.

I’m called Bess teacher which sounds like best teacher.  🙂

The internet man came just when I was finishing my shower one morning.  Supremely awkward.

I’ve only been teaching for a week and a half and I think I’m already putting too high of expectations on myself.  Not good.

Greatest frustration:  Classes made up of kids on different levels.  How do I challenge and actively interact with the kids who are really getting this English thing and are exceedingly bright and at the same time give the intensive attention the other kids need because it seems like there is no comprehension going on upstairs?

Men riding motorbikes while wearing a mask to protect themselves from swine flu, but not wearing a helmet.  Explain that one, please.

Everyone should go see Avatar at your earliest convenience.  It is a truly astonishingly beautiful film.  I swear I watched the first hour with my jaw on the floor and my mouth open in rapt fascination.  It’s been a long time since I’ve responded so strongly to a film.  It was thrilling and electrical and moving and spiritual.

Many people have asked me how I’m liking Korea so far and each time I hesitate before I answer.  My initial response isn’t “I love Korea!” or “Yeah, things are great!”.  I don’t know if things seem weird because Kels isn’t here yet or what.  I’ve had great experiences, I’ve made friends and I’m enjoying interacting with these great Korean kids.  Maybe I should give myself a little break and stop expecting life to be so full right away and all the time.

I miss baking Christmas cookies with Sister Sara and Mom.

I love watching Greer Garson movies on YouTube.  She’s absolutely beautiful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. linda Houshower permalink
    December 25, 2009 5:48 am

    Hi Bess,
    I’m enjoying your blog. I was remembering my first meal in Korea, a bowl of “fire water soup” with a chunk of tofu(which was new to me) and a piece of fish, in my case the head! I did learn to enjoy tofu which was not hot. Noodles from the sidewalk vendors are not as hot as some things. Hang in there, Merry Christmas!

  2. January 4, 2010 5:09 pm

    Oh, Bess. I love that you are writing and I love reading about how things are going. Please keep it up. I can just see you exclaiming at the baggage claim and it makes me happy. As for your students, I’m sure you’ve probably already looked into this, but unit studies work really well for kids learning on different levels. I’m not sure how that would work for language instruction exactly, but maybe the general idea will inspire you.

    Oh, the experiences you must be having and memories you are creating. Relish in them, know that you are missed and loved and give yourself some time to settle in and adjust before analyzing too much.

    And, keep writing!!

Leave a Reply

