Skip to content

My 25th Year

February 2, 2012

It is my birthday!  I am turning 26 and I’ll be honest, it feels pretty damn good.  Life is pretty ace these days.  I can’t complain.

I love lists.  Here are some important things that happened while I was 25:

1.  Birthday Berries for Bess in Bangkok in Bed!

2.  I tramped around SE Asia with friends.

3.  I saw The Tree.

4.  I rode a motorbike around the highland countryside of Vietnam.

5.  I survived a mob of angry Chinese people.

6.  I listened to Billy Joel’s The Great Wall of China while standing on The Great Wall of China.  One of the most perfect moments of my life.

7.  I came home after an absence of 16 months.  It was a homecoming like none other.

8.  I landed myself a paying job!

9.  I discovered and fell head over heels in love with opera.  I wish I could convey just how significant this one is.

10.  I met Karen Bontrager.

11.  I had a six month year old fall asleep in my arms.

12.  I signed a lease on my very first apartment.

13.  I “saw” Renée Fleming and Joyce DiDonato onstage in live, full productions (HD broadcasts).  Be still my heart.

14.  Had many wonderful encounters with friends in West Liberty, Goshen, Harrisonburg and Columbus.  Travel is indeed a blessing; one to not be taken lightly.

15.  Pinterest and Spotify happened and life was never the same.

16.  New music!  Infantree, Agnes Obel, Gotye, Laura Marling, Verdi’s Requiem, Rossini’s Stabat Mater.

17.  Bought my first pair of high heels!  And then bought a few more.  😉

18.  Weddings!  Four of them!  What wonderful and lovely occasions.

19.  I wrote an email to the person I admire most in this world and lo and behold – she responded.  A personal email from Joyce DiDonato.  My heart was FLYING.

20.  Many conversations with Karen in her kitchen.  Sacred space, that is.

21.  CAKE BALLS.

22.  I got this excellent brand new MacBook Pro.  It needs a name.

Here’s to year 27!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

