Skip to content

Reflections on a birthday

February 3, 2013

Dear friends. Do you know how wonderful this life we are living is? It hit me pretty hard today.

My birthday celebrations started last night. This I believe: when a meal is shared with friends around a table, one enters a sacred space unlike any other. I have an incredible group of friends here. I laughed until my stomach hurt, I cried when my friend shared of an unfortunate reality, I melted when I ate Brandon’s exquisitely prepared meal, I smiled the whole evening long. I drank countless delicious beverages and reveled in my good luck. To top it off, my friends and I watched the first half of Wagner’s Das Rheingold. Two first time opera viewers! How could my birthday get any better I ask you?

My birthday morning started off in a most epic way. I had leftover birthday cake in bed. Joyce DiDonato responded to my tweet and wished me a Happy Birthday. My friend Steele called me and sang Happy Birthday to me in his full barihunk voice. The Twitterverse and FB world exploded with well wishes. Which brings me to this: I am so incredibly grateful for the opera family I have acquired on this glorious thing we call the internet. To all my friends on Twitter (whether I have met you or not)…you have my absolute heartfelt gratitude. Thank you for walking with me through this incredible world of opera. We are all the more richer for it.

I attended a wedding today. I was able to dance, which is one thing that gives me great joy. I had a lovely time with my Uncle during the reception. I ate more cake!

I’m not sure if it was the finale to Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro that set me off on the way home or thinking on my birthday celebrations, but I was shedding many a tear. Life is so glorious. I have so many wonderful and steadfast friendships in so many places. I think my parents are the bees knees and they are unfailing in their love and support. They also don’t give me shit for being 27 and single. Music! I have known deep in my bones for my whole life that music is what I absolutely cannot live without. It is stunningly beautiful and moves me daily. I believe opera is the most supreme expression of this shared experience of life, it is the culmination of everything (Joyce’s wisdom) and it has genuinely changed my life. It has opened doors I never thought possible, it has been the foundation for many friendships that will last my whole life, it has taken my soul to heights I never had imagined. 

So. I urge you all to bask in the light of living, to tune into the joy of the universe, to give thanks for those around you, to be present at all times, to fully realize, to take this truth into your soul, that whatever we are doing on this planet is right, is essential and is bloody phenomenal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2013 2:43 pm

    Wonderful blog post! Isn’t it terrific to realize this. We all need to be reminded each day of our good fortune and joy in friends, love, and music and art!

  2. February 3, 2013 6:46 pm

    I previously bookmarked your blog, followed for awhile and then got distracted with life – so happy to have found you again! Happy birthday! Thank you for the reminder to enjoy all that is bloody phenomenal!

Leave a Reply

